Lapidary Plaza clubs · workshops · suppliers

Gem Cutters Guild of Baltimore Lapidary 1.0

Workshop Baltimore

Website
https://www.gemcuttersguild.com/
Location
Gem Cutters Guild workshop, 3600 Clipper Mill Road, Suite 116, Baltimore, MD 21211
Last checked
2026-10-06

What it is

Lapidary 1.0 is a first-party beginner cabochon-cutting class run by the Gem Cutters Guild of Baltimore, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) lapidary and jewelry guild founded to share lapidary and jewelry-making skills with the local community. The official event page describes a two-day class that teaches the basics of cutting and polishing gemstone cabochons. Students form cabochons of several shapes from slabs of stones such as agates and jaspers, and learn about rough material and lapidary tools and equipment. Instructor: Amelia Urbanski. The page says the class is a prerequisite for Open Shop access at the Guild workshop. This listing is for the class itself, not the Guild’s general membership.

Who it’s for

Adults in the Baltimore / central Maryland area with no lapidary experience who want a small (six-seat), instructor-led weekend cabochon course with a printed price and dated fall 2026 sessions. Students are encouraged to bring their own stones for discussion, and an Optivisor is recommended. Guild classes are designed for adults; students aged 14–17 need an exception from the Guild (per the event page).

Why it’s listed

This is a first-party lapidary workshop with a printed Baltimore street address, a named instructor, dated 2026 sessions with clock times, a stated seat count, and on-page dollar prices. It is not a scraped directory card, not a gem-club meeting listing alone, and not a supply storefront.

  • Venue (event page, checked 2026-10-06): “In the Shop,” 3600 Clipper Mill Road, Suite 116, Baltimore, MD 21211. The Guild home page says this workshop is next to the Woodberry light rail station.
  • Sessions (Classes & Events Calendar / event pages, checked today):
    • Saturday–Sunday, November 14–15, 2026, 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. each day. 1 of 6 seats showed as available. Cancellations accepted until Monday, November 2, 2026, 6:00 p.m.
    • Saturday–Sunday, November 28–29, 2026, 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. each day. 3 of 6 seats showed as available. Cancellations accepted until Monday, November 16, 2026, 6:00 p.m.
    • December 5–6, 2026 is also on the calendar but was marked Waitlist. The October 3–4 session was marked FULL.
  • Price (event pages, checked today): registration price $240.00 (“Everyone”). Payment in full in advance only. Materials fee: $35, which includes slabs for three stones. The page does not state whether the $35 is included in the $240 or charged separately. It also invites members to log in “to access member benefits, if available”; any member price is not shown to the public.
  • Guild context (home page, checked today): the Guild runs a member workshop with slab and trim saws, multiple lapidary forming and polishing stations, torch soldering stations and jeweler’s benches. Published dues are $35/yr individual and $55/yr household, a one-time $12 new-member set-up fee, and a $75 open-shop fee.

The price, dates and seat counts above are what the official pages showed on the check date. Seats fill and fees change. Confirm on the live event pages before treating any figure as fixed.

Official URL

Last checked: 2026-10-06

https://www.gemcuttersguild.com/

Lapidary 1.0 — November 14–15, 2026: https://www.gemcuttersguild.com/content.aspx?page_id=4091&club_id=331066&item_id=2943976&event_date_id=463376

Lapidary 1.0 — November 28–29, 2026: https://www.gemcuttersguild.com/content.aspx?page_id=4091&club_id=331066&item_id=3080065&event_date_id=495189

Classes & Events Calendar: https://www.gemcuttersguild.com/content.aspx?page_id=4001&club_id=331066

Location

Class meets at the Gem Cutters Guild of Baltimore workshop, 3600 Clipper Mill Road, Suite 116, Baltimore, MD 21211 (event page, checked 2026-10-06), next to the Woodberry light rail station according to the Guild home page. Class contact email on the event page: [email protected]. Phone: not stated on the pages checked.

This is a guild-run lapidary classroom and member workshop. It is not a lapidary retail counter.

Notes

  • Category is Workshops. This is a dated, fee-based, two-day cabochon class with printed price and seat counts. The Gem Cutters Guild of Baltimore itself is a membership guild; if it is ever listed under Clubs, it should be a separate entry.
  • The site is on ClubExpress. A plain curl with a minimal user agent got HTTP 403 (home page) and HTTP 404 (content.aspx event and calendar pages) from gemcuttersguild.com, while requests with standard browser headers returned HTTP 200 for every cited page. The pages are public; the 403/404 responses look like bot filtering.
  • The $240.00 price and $35 materials fee are copied from the official event pages checked on 2026-10-06. Whether the materials fee is in addition to the $240, and whether Guild membership is required to enroll, are not stated on site.
  • Seat counts (1 left for Nov 14–15, 3 left for Nov 28–29) were a snapshot on the check date.
  • The first-party Baltimore Gem Cutters Guild wordmark is saved as gem-cutters-guild-of-baltimore-lapidary-1.png. It came from the Guild’s ClubExpress photo albums (Baltimore_gem_cutters_guild_wordmark_1300646280.png) and was converted to grayscale PNG and re-compressed only.
  • Not affiliated with Lapidary Plaza.
  • No Lapidary Plaza contact, purchase, booking, or publication action was taken.

FAQ

Q: How much is Lapidary 1.0?
A: The official event pages (checked 2026-10-06) show a registration price of $240.00, payment in full in advance, and a $35 materials fee that includes slabs for three stones. Whether the materials fee is extra is not stated on site.

Q: When and where does it meet?
A: Upcoming sessions on the calendar are November 14–15 and November 28–29, 2026, 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. each day, with December 5–6 waitlisted. All are at 3600 Clipper Mill Road, Suite 116, Baltimore, MD 21211 (checked 2026-10-06).

Q: Do I need experience?
A: No. The event page says no experience is required. The class is designed for adults; students 14–17 need an exception from the Guild.

Q: Is this a gem club or a supply shop?
A: Neither as listed here. This entry is under Workshops. It is a fee-based two-day cabochon class run by the Gem Cutters Guild of Baltimore. For membership gem societies, see Clubs. For equipment and rough, see Suppliers.